Meet the Children of Julio Otoni: Guilherme

Guilherme Thomas is ten years old and lives in Julio Otoni. He has been coming to the community centre for years to take part in the Julio Otoni project. We caught up with Guilherme after a Music class to ask him about his life in and outside of the community.

Image

What is your favourite class at the Julio Otoni Centre?

I love the Dance and Music classes. The Dance class gives me the chance to learn different styles of dancing, like Breakdancing, and during the Music class I get to practice my percussion, which I have been learning for a long time.

What do you like about the Julio Otoni Centre?

It’s great to have the chance to go to different classes that I don’t have at school. Also, the Summer Camp was lots of fun.

What do you like to do outside of your time at school and the centre?

I like practising Capoeira and am also learning Judo.

What would you like to do when you’re older?

I want to be a vet, because I like helping animals.

Who do you consider a role model?

I’m not sure… but I really admire people who take care of animals when they are sick. I would like to be able to do the same one day.

The volunteers have been very impressed by Guilherme’s drumming during Music classes at the Julio Otoni Centre. Though he is only ten, Guilherme demonstrates a great sense of rhythm and the other children love rapping or singing over the beats he hammers out of the congo drum. His percussion skills will certainly be useful for the children’s performance that is set to take place next month.

Image

If you are interested in making a donation to the Julio Otoni Project, check out our site on Global Giving.

If you are interested in volunteering at Julio Otoni, click here for more information.

Leave a Reply

